Country Fireworks

June 30, 2008 at 2:34 am 3 comments

I live outside the city limits in a rural area–and it is less than a week until July 4.  This is a wicked combination.

A couple of nights ago, I was sitting on the front porch after dark talking on the phone.  Suddenly I saw a flash of light and heard a loud BANG!  I hobbled to the road in the darkness–on my sore foot–and there, parked on the dirt road, was a vehicle.  Some woman was outside shooting Roman candles, and someone else was doing the same thing from inside the vehicle.

“HEY!  Stop that!  Y’all get outta here!” 

The woman said she didn’t know anyone lived nearby (like THAT makes it OK?).  Besides, she was within 30′ from my mailbox.  (Liar! Liar!)  I stood there at the end of my driveway and kept hollering at her, telling her I was gonna call the law.  As she got back in the car and drove off, the man in the car hurled obscenities.  But they could clearly see I was on the phone and they probably thought I was following through on my threat.

Next time something like that happens, I’m gonna introduce those city folks to “country fireworks” manufactured by big names like Remington and Winchester.

(On a side note, being 50 has given me the courage to chew people out when they have it coming.  Reaching that age, however, has not removed my hideous fear of June bugs…I will absolutely hurt myself trying to run from them.)  🙄

Entry filed under: Acting Mature. Or not., On the homefront.

GLAD about this

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. FlamingO  |  July 3, 2008 at 8:02 am

    Amen to that, sister! And don’t forget to bring the rest of your friends, Smith, Wesson and Walther PPK.

    Our driveway is a fine spot for a picnic, apparently, as I was informed by the man driving the vanload of people who were sprawled all over the place, blocking my exit to the highway. “Oh, we’ll be done here in a minute” he said. “Buddy, you’re done NOW. And be sure to take all your trash with you, even her.”

    Geesh. People. Ya just gotta hate some of ’em.

    I’m liking yer bloggin’, Rita!

    Reply
  • 2. Karen  |  July 4, 2008 at 8:52 am

    I’m there with you on speaking your mind. I’ve been over 50 for a while now and it keeps getting easier, more blatent (sp) and I love it!! I’m so happy your doing daily blogs, it lets me in on what your up to.

    Reply
  • 3. okwriter2  |  July 4, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Hey, Karen! You might not be so happy when I start telling “fish tales” about our adventures. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,103 hits

Time Flies

June 2008
S M T W T F S
    Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Old is Good (Archives)


