Not MY husband

July 23, 2008 at 9:02 pm 2 comments

A couple of you have asked why I always write “Husband did this (or that)…” instead of “MY husband did this (or that)…”

Well, if I’m relating a story about a cranky old fart man telling me how to drive our tractor, it’s obviously MY husband instead of yours.  🙂

OK, so that’s not the real reason.  The real reason is that  we watched a show on PBS about 5 years ago called The Farmer’s Wife.  Right after that, he started leaving me notes that began with “Wife…” so I started leaving him notes that began with “Husband…”  Those were back in the days when we still left notes for each other! 🙄

Somehow it stuck, and I still call him Husband—even around the house—instead of using his name. 

  • “Husband, come look at this.”
  • “Husband, what time are we leaving?”

It’s a dumb thing, I know.  And now YOU know why I call him “husband” on this blog instead of “MY husband.”  Gee, I’ll bet you’re glad you tuned in today.  🙂

Entry filed under: Men.

Midnight epiphany Youthfully challenged

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann Solinski  |  January 9, 2010 at 1:35 am

    It sounds so Amish/Pennsylvania Dutch to me. Or maybe Quaker. Definitely a bonnet and an apron in the scene. Very charming.

    Yeah, I am catching up on reading some of your old blogs. You are so wickedly witty. I love it! Dunno if I’ll actually get to know you better because, well, I am forgetful, but sure am having a blast ‘meeting’ you!

    Reply
  • 2. okwriter2  |  January 9, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    LOL @ Ann! You must have a dreadfully boring life if you’re reading my old posts. (Then again, it’s too cold to do much of anything else…)

    I think my favorites blog posts are the one about the stolen mailbox and the (first) one about search terms people use to find my blog. Naughty, naughty…
    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,071 hits

Time Flies

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Old is Good (Archives)


