Youthfully challenged

July 24, 2008 at 9:35 pm 1 comment

I got an email today with a cute story (which I won’t go into here).  By next week tomorrow, I probably won’t remember the story.  But I will remember the part about forwarding the joke to five “old” friends—or, as the email called them: youthfully challenged.

My dad was admitted to the hospital today for a nasty infection in a toe that was operated on last week.  Several months ago, he was in the same hospital for another nasty infection (Staph) follwoing a different toe surgery.  *sigh*  Pop always says, “Gettin’ old ain’t for sissies!”  AMEN TO THAT!

Sherri, Pop, ME

Father's Day 2005: Sherri, Pop, ME

I sometimes wonder if we’d better off just skipping the “Hillbilly Healthcare” at the hospitals and doing it the cowboy way: pouring some whiskey into the patient and onto the wound and hacking away with a knife.  🙄

Bottom line: my dad is right.  Gettin’ old ain’t for sissies.  To be more politically correct, I guess I should say “Becoming youthfully challenged isn’t for sissies,” but somehow that doesn’t have quite the same ring to it.  😉

Entry filed under: Aging gracefully, Hillbilly Healthcare.

Not MY husband Troubleshooting technology

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  July 30, 2008 at 8:43 am

    I love this picture of you, Sherri & Pop. I agree with you about hospitals..i think if you didn’t have an infection going in, you will have coming out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,067 hits

Time Flies

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Old is Good (Archives)


