The “lawn”

August 6, 2008 at 9:01 pm 1 comment

If you’ve read my prior blog posts, you know that the cranky old fart patient loving man I’m married to is rather “picky” about some stuff. He lives in a world where there is a right way and a wrong way to do things.  Most of the time, I do it wrong. 😉

I’ve felt bad about not helping with yard much this summer, so yesterday I offered to help mow.  He kept saying, “You don’t have to.” And I should’ve known that meant “Go back inside.” But nooooooooooo, I had to crawl up on the Cub Cadet and take ‘er for a spin! 

Now, you gotta understand that we built a house in the middle of what used to a pasture.  We have done some work on the yard but not much. And I swear when he looks at it, he must see a well-manicured golf course.  In reality, it is nothing but weeds with a few sparse patches of bermuda.

Anyway, after I mowed one little spot north of the house, I proceeded to the huge back yard.  He stopped me right away and proceeded to give me very explicit directions (complete with hand signals). “Go straight down here, then over there, then there, then come back up here, then go again.  So I mow that spot in about 30 minutes and proceed to the next. 

Of course, one time around in the new spot and he lets me know I’m not doing it right.  “Go back over that twice,” he says. “You’re leaving ridges.”  🙄

 

All of that may seem pretty normal to you.  But you haven’t seen the “lawn” that he was making me be so very careful on.  Are ya ready?  Put your drink down coz I promise you’ll spit on your monitor.  🙂

 

 

 

Okie dokie.  I warned you.  Scroll on down…………

 

 

 

 

 

There you have it, friends.  As I said yesterday, “Men are from Mars. Women are normal.”  🙂

Entry filed under: Men, On the homefront.

Christmas Eve blog Gee, thanks

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  August 7, 2008 at 10:35 am

    That is so Burlie…and you should know Reet that you can’t do that kind of job as well as he can. And you know, he probably did see a well manicured lawn, because he was doing all the manicuring. However, now that you’ve touched it, he now sees dirt and cracks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,177 hits

Time Flies

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Old is Good (Archives)


