Click. Click. Click.

August 11, 2008 at 7:36 pm 2 comments

Our bedroom was cloaked in silence as I stood beside the dresser at 4:32 this morning—phone in hand.  Nothing good ever comes from a phone call that time of day.

I woke up on the first ring and walked across the room to answer it in the midst of the third ring. Half-asleep and half-awake, I said, “Hello.” 

  • The time of day
  • The five words the caller said: “I’ve been sneezing all day” (which would mean nothing to anyone except me)
  • The slurred but familiar voice on the other end

The silence seemed broken by the almost audible sound of my mind putting together those three clues. 

Click. Click. Click.

…followed by another CLICK as I hung up.  Why, oh why, did an alcohlic ex-husband that I haven’t seen in 20 years think it would be alright to call me that time of day (night)?  Let’s hope he doesn’t get too brazen and show up on my doorstep.  The next click may just be ME putting one in the chamber…  🙄

Entry filed under: Acting Mature. Or not..

Cleaning house Wild, wild west

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  August 12, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    Do what I do, just don’t answer the phone at 4:30 am…it can never be good. The last early morning, or late night, call I had was the county jail…NO, I didn’t answer it.

    Reply
  • 2. Mooch  |  August 13, 2008 at 10:47 am

    I think its in the water around here. In the past month I have had 2 ex relationships walk into my office. Maybe I am bringing you bad karma. LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,189 hits

Time Flies

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Old is Good (Archives)


