Wild, wild west

August 12, 2008 at 10:25 pm Leave a comment

I hate to make it sound like I’m some sort of rootin’ tootin’ crazy old bag who wanders around our property in my nightgown with a 6-shooter strapped to my waist.  (OK, so I’m old and I toot…but that’s it! Well, maybe a little crazy, too.)  😉

But I have an “issue” with dogs.  NOT all dogs.  We like dogs!  But I don’t like (a) people who dump their dogs out here in the country, and (b) neighbors who let their dogs roam.  As for the dumpers, we can’t stop them, and we try to run the dogs off.  As for the neighbors, well—that’s another story.  🙄

Right now they have two dogs.  Dog A roams, and Dog B only roams when Dog A does.  I don’t like them over here scaring off the deer and turkeys.  I don’t like them over here eating the food I put out for our five cats.  I don’t like them.  Period. 

I used to just run outside and yell, “GIT!”  That really works… But the last straw came a few nights ago when husband and I both woke up at 3:30 in the morning to the sound of a barking dog…Dog A on MY back porch…barking at MY cats.  👿

Husband and I have both tried the past few months to “get” Dog A with the .22 but it is one sly creature.  It knows all the shortcuts back home—shortcuts that meander in and around bushes and buildings and trees so that we can’t get a good shot.  Talking to the neighbors would be like talking to a rock, so I guess we’ll just keep hoping to catch Dog A out in the open.  Hopefully, the rest of the alphabet will take care of itself.

Entry filed under: On the homefront.

Click. Click. Click. The cork

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,112 hits

Time Flies

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Old is Good (Archives)


