The cork

August 13, 2008 at 9:57 pm 1 comment

Last night, I soaked in the jetted tub for awhile.  I don’t use it as much in the summer, but I needed a Calgon escape.  I’ve been sooooo swamped with work blessed with work lately that I haven’t had much time to just relax. 

On the ledge in the tub sits a cork.  It’s been there for over two years—I don’t know why I haven’t thrown it away.  It was on a bottle of Asti Spumante that husband I drank back then.  it was a night of celebration…my last day of working a “real” job.  🙂

No, there was no wild “tub sex” that night.  Just a lot of relief on my part and probably a lot of anxiety on his.  (“How will she pay her bills? Will I have to pay for everything now?”)  And when I look at the cork, I remember how happy I was to be out from under a job I had grown to dislike hate.

A lot has happened since then, and I am so grateful to have so much work and to have a beautiful place from which to do that work.  But I do wish someone would come clean my house…which is the real reason the cork is still there.  🙄

Entry filed under: Acting Mature. Or not., Paying the bills..

Wild, wild west Hummer experiment

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  August 14, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    I think you should put that cork in a place of prominance, not throw it away. It holds a nice memory..drinking champagne and quitting a crummy job…those are nice memories!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,067 hits

Time Flies

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Old is Good (Archives)


