Hummer experiment

August 14, 2008 at 4:11 pm 1 comment

We’ve had a ton of hummingbirds this year, and they are increasingly active!

 

They’re friendly little things, too—not hesitating to fly right up by us as we hang up a fresh feeder full of liquid.  When that happened today, I had a brilliant idea!  We had some leftover watermelon that we weren’t going to eat, so I figured I would hold it up near one of the feeders and see if I could get a hummer to check it out.  I’m sure you’ll be sooooo interested in the results of my little experiment!

 

I came in and sliced off a nice hunk of melon that they could see from a distance.  Then I went outside, stood on the back porch, and held the chunk up in the air. After a few minutes, the hummingbirds flew past and chattered, flew past and chattered, flew past and chattered.

 

Then my arm got tired, and I came back in the house.  The only thing my experiment proved is that my arms are wimpy.  🙄

Entry filed under: On the homefront, Random.

The cork ACME Dynamite

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  August 15, 2008 at 9:26 am

    I wish I had a picture of that experiment!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,069 hits

Time Flies

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Old is Good (Archives)


