How’s that taste?

August 25, 2008 at 4:47 pm 3 comments

If you’re like me, you sometimes say stuff that comes back to bite you.  Such is my dilemma today…  🙄

I didn’t blog yesterday, but I blogged on Saturday about God’s blessings.  Let’s see…I said something about everything (good or bad) being a blessing, and that it would be pretty rude to tell God, “Hey, I don’t like this.  Does it come with a gift receipt so I can exchange it for something else?” 

So husband came home from work today with bad news.  Not sure why he didn’t call me today and tell me this, but evidently before he left for work this morning, he had to bury one of our furbabies.  Seems that one of our (five) cats—the one we named Stow Away—decided to hunt across the road and someone ran over her as she returned home with a rat. 😥

People who don’t have pets (and especially people who don’t have cats) probably don’t “get” what it’s like to lose one.  And for those of us who don’t have 2-legged kids, well—our 4-legged hairy kids are a huge part of our lives.  Seems mine became more so when I started working from home.

Anyway, I’m trying to sit in the pew today and hear my own message instead of standing at the pulpit and telling you how you should feel.  I’m trying to take a dose of my own medicine and not fuss at God about this “blessing.”  I’m trying not to choke as I eat the very words I dished out just 48 hours ago.  My words don’t taste too good.  Ever had that happen?

Entry filed under: On the homefront, Sometimes life sucks....

God’s blessings WOW, I feel rested (NOT)

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. okwriter2  |  August 25, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    It took awhile to accept the news…but I think I figured out the blessing part.
    I was at least blessed to have her for a few short years, and I am grateful for that.
    See you someday, sweet girl…

    Reply
  • 2. Karen  |  August 29, 2008 at 9:25 am

    i’m so sorry about losing Stow Away. anytime you lose a pet it’s heartbreaking. Time will help it not hurt so bad, but that’s not much of a consolation. Is Stow Away the one that I almost took home?

    Reply
  • 3. Karen  |  August 29, 2008 at 9:53 am

    I had another thought…Burlie didn’t call you from work because he loves you too much to give you heartbreaking news like that over the phone. He deserves a big hug!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,133 hits

Time Flies

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Old is Good (Archives)


