Top 10 List (-9)

August 27, 2008 at 5:35 pm Leave a comment

If I had to make a list of the top 10 most annoying things in my life, migraine headaches would undoubtedly be #1.  🙄

About 8-10 years ago, I went to the ER after struggling with a headache for a few days.  I was given a CAT scan and a shot of narcotics, then sent home.  A few months later, I was back again but got a different ER doc.  This one suspected a migraine and gave me a shot.  She said if the headache was better in 20 minutes, we’d know for sure it was a migraine.

HOLY MOLY!  I couldn’t believe that I walked out of there 30 minutes later as a completely different person.  Since then, I’ve rarely been without my migraine meds.  Usually, a pill will take care of it if caught early, but sometimes I wake up with a really bad one or just can’t ever get one under control…those require an injection. With the exception of one particular year when I was afraid to inject myself, I do OK with those.  Don’t like ’em, but by the time I decide to do it, the pain is so bad that I would rather be dead than endure another minute of pain. 

My migraines are an “aging” issue because they are hormonal.  *sigh* I only get them some months, and when I do have one it is almost always within 48 hours either side of my period.  Today was one of those days. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.  Thankfully, my workload is light this week, so I could take a pill and rest in the dark most of the day. 

So what rounds out the rest of my Top 10 Most Annoying list?  I haven’t decided yet…  Besides, it would change daily, I’m sure.  After all, menopausal women can change their minds whenever they want to.  I’m pretty sure there is a law about that somewhere in the Constitution.  🙂

Entry filed under: Aging gracefully, Hillbilly Healthcare, Menopause ALERT.

WOW, I feel rested (NOT) Hair-y dilemma

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,067 hits

Time Flies

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Old is Good (Archives)


