Gifts for Mom

September 4, 2008 at 12:33 pm 3 comments

I’m at the point in my life where I don’t need more “gifts” cluttering up my house. 

  • I don’t need more music boxes, fishing pictures, or bookends.  They need dusted and I don’t dust. 
  • I don’t need more jewelry.  I don’t wear most of what I have.
  • I don’t need more clothes…DIFFERENT clothes maybe (perhaps a bit more stylish and a lot less “old lady-ish”).  But if I need them, I’ll go to Walmart and buy them.  🙂

Even so, it’s nice to get gifts from my kids.  OK, technically, they aren’t kids—they’re cats.  And technically, they aren’t gifts—they are animal, bird, and rodent parts left outside every door I have.

But still, it’s nice to know my “kids” are thinking of me.  The rarely kill anything without leaving evidence (feathers or feet or intestines) for me on my doorstep. 

Just like a real mom, I have to clean up their messes.  Today, I think I’ll just be glad I can do that with a broom.  Most of the messes real kids make can’t be fixed that easily.  🙄

Entry filed under: On the homefront.

Happy “Get Your Butt Back to Work” Day The *S* words

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  September 4, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    Your “kids” have to leave evidence of their kill so you’ll be proud of them!!

    Reply
  • 2. Cheri  |  September 4, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    Further proof that we have become our mothers and grandmothers. They used to say “please don’t buy me anymore knick knacks, I just have to dust them.” We are them because it is more STUFF to clean around.

    Reply
  • 3. Laurie Neumann  |  September 4, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    I like your post. I have two kids and a bichon frise, who is like my third child.

    I know what you mean – at this point, there’s not a lot we need (or even want.) But it is nice to be remembered.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,133 hits

Time Flies

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Old is Good (Archives)


