Meals on Wheels

September 18, 2008 at 10:23 pm 2 comments

I always like it when I cook on Wednesday night because I know we’ll have leftovers on Thursday night that I can quickly warm up before we leave for church.  Some weeks it works out that way—some weeks it doesn’t.  This week, we had no leftovers… 

Instead, I turned to our favorite “hurry up” meal, Blue and Gold chicken strips.  They are already breaded, so you just have to warm them in the oven for about 30 minutes.   Tonight I ate mine rolled up in a flour tortilla with shredded cheese and some ranch dressing. YUM-MY.   🙂

So we get home from church and I knew something was awry the minute I walked into the kitchen.  The oven was on!  There wasn’t anything in it, so it’s not like I nearly burned the house down or anything. 🙄

But I hated the fact that I just plain forgot to turn it off.  And I hated the fact that I’d paid for the electricity to leave that baby fired up at 400 degrees for 3 hours and paid for extra electricity to cool that room…which was warmer than usual because of the dang oven.

It dawned on me that I had never done that in this house.  In fact, I don’t recall ever doing it in ANY house.

My mom has been doing stuff like that for years—only her infractions are usually a pan left on the stove that boils dry or something in the toaster oven that comes out black.  At her house, the standing joke is that dinner is ready when the smoke alarm goes off.  🙂

I guess I’ve earned yet another badge of Menapause…failure to function in the kitchen. I told husband that doing stupid stuff like that is why old people eat Meals on Wheels instead of cooking.  I’m calling them tomorrow.

Entry filed under: Aging gracefully, Menopause ALERT.

He wouldn’t trade me… Happy birthday, Pop

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cheri  |  September 20, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    Or you could put your milk in the glass cabinet. I always store mine there!

    Reply
  • 2. okwriter2  |  September 22, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    Cheri,
    You want some of those Post It notes back that you loaned me?
    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,177 hits

Time Flies

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Old is Good (Archives)


