Happy birthday, Pop

September 19, 2008 at 9:47 pm 1 comment

My dad turned 76 today.  It occurs to me he would have only been 26 when I was born.  It’s hard to think of my dad as ever being so young! 

Like every generation, people my dad’s age have seen a lot of changes in the world.  He talks about delivering milk from a milk wagon when he was just a kid in Nebraska.  He talks about going to Korea—although he doesn’t expand on some of what happened there.  He talks about “the good old days” when you just went and bought a car and then called the banker to see when you could come sign the papers to finance it.  He talks about working in the oilfields of Wyoming and Utah when he was in his 30s and 40s.

I wonder what I will talk about when I am 76.  What will be the most important events I recall from my life?  And will I be able to recall them without a sea of Post It notes?  Will I still be having hot flashes or will menopause be a distant memory?  Will I have yet more aches and pains than now?  Will I be a worrier like my mom…twisting paper towels to shreds if the mail doesn’t run on time (only to finally figure out it’s Sunday and the mail isn’t coming at all!)?

One of my dad’s favorite sayings is “Getting old ain’t for sissies.”  He’s right!  I better get a lot tougher in the next stage of life or I’m not gonna make it.

Happy birthday, Pop.

Entry filed under: Aging gracefully, Random.

Meals on Wheels Not fair fair

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  September 22, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    Happy Birthday Pop!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,103 hits

Time Flies

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Old is Good (Archives)


