Knock. Knock. NO JOKE.

October 8, 2008 at 11:41 pm 1 comment

KNOCK. KNOCK.

Who’s there?

GOD.

Ummmm…okay.  So what do you want?

THIS IS YOUR WAKE-UP CALL. 

So that’s not exactly how the conversation went, but it’s close.  Throughout the years, my dad has had his share of health issues.  Bypass surgery, stents, prostate cancer, toe amputations, Staph infections, etc.  But my mom has remained fairly healthy with the exception of a disobedient thyroid. In fact, she just returned today from a 5-day road trip to Tennessee with my sister.

Imagine my surprise when my sister called this evening and said she was on the way to the hospital with my mom!  She couldn’t breathe and her back was hurting.  (Turns out her blood pressure was through the roof, too.)  After an EKG, chest x-ray, blood work, and a breathing treatment, they determined she had a very irregular heartbeat.  It was racing but not racing regularly.  She is on oxygen and will be there at least overnight until they figure out what is wrong and how to treat it. 

My mom is 79 years old and weights 98 pounds.  I know we are all going to die someday, but I felt like tonight was a real wake-up call.  And not one that I wanted, either…

Entry filed under: Sometimes life sucks....

Blog Break Time for a QUICKIE

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mooch  |  October 9, 2008 at 10:38 am

    I think it was a shock to all of us!! We love you and your mom..and our in our prayers!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,112 hits

Time Flies

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Old is Good (Archives)


