October sucked…

October 30, 2008 at 10:27 am 1 comment

I can’t think of a better way to describe October other than “it sucked.”

Most of you who read the blog know that Mom passed away the evening of October 15, which was one week after being admitted to the hospital.  Tests, surgery, procedures, ventilator, feeding tube, IVs, monitors…it was dreadful and emotionally draining.  By the time she died, we were all torn between wanting to let her go and wanting to keep her here.

While at the OKC hospital, most of our family picked up a nasty cold.  Mine turned really ugly.  By the time of the funeral and burial, I was really sick.  Two days later, I went to the doctor and was diagnosed with acute bronichitis.  For a week after that, I mostly laid around the house when I wasn’t at my folks’ house helping Pop and sister. The meds kept me from sleeping, which added to my weariness.  I finished my meds on Tuesday and finally got a full night’s sleep Wednesday.  WOW—do I feel better!

Adding to my bad news this month is that I’ve managed to hose my Internet connection.  It’s a long story and it will right itself, but it’s going to take awhile.  Meantime, my ISP has throttled me back to dial-up (or slower than dial-up), which limits my time online.

So if I blog, I blog.  And if I do, it may not be cheerful.  And if I don’t get around to it, well—I just don’t.  I’m still hurting…but so very grateful for the friends and family who have helped me endure thus far.

Entry filed under: Sometimes life sucks....

Hug your mom Doing nothing

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Cheri  |  October 30, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    I’m glad to see you blogging, I for one have missed it. No one expects you to be funny or cheerful but eventually you will be, because that is part of who you are. The one thing we always could count on when we were together is that we laughed and you will again. Love you, cheri

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,071 hits

Time Flies

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Old is Good (Archives)


