The problem with search engines and the people who use them

November 21, 2008 at 6:02 pm 3 comments

If you’ve ever used a search engine to look for something online (and who hasn’t?), then you know the frustration of clicking on a Web page and finding something totally different than you what you’re looking for. 

I decided to look at my blog stats today to see what search words people have used to get here. WOW, was I surprised!  I’m guessing some of the people who landed on one of my WomenOver50 blog pages were surprised, too.  And a fair number of them were probably disappointed.

I wonder how long it took the poor sap who searched for “hot womenover50” to figure out that yeah, I’m HOT.  It usually happens about 4:00 in the morning when I wake up drenched from yet another round of night sweats. (It’s called menopause, dufus…show me a women over 50 who isn’t hot and I’ll show you a woman on hormone meds.)     🙄

And who on earth searches for “women that say the word hiney“?  😕

And why did my site come up in a search for “male stripper vegas curtain“?  😕

blogsearches

Thinking a few of those were pretty bizarre, I checked my stats for search terms used in the last quarter.  Among them (and I swear I’m not making these up):

  1. my legs feel like a ton, why is that? (People who do searches like this either don’t understand search engines or they have rocks tied to their feet.  I’m not sure which.)
  2. a sick woman sleeping (Wake her up or call 9-1-1 but don’t waste time searching the Internet.)
  3. slobber (Yeah, I do that sometimes. Also see #2.)
  4. will & grace actors “name of actors” (I like the show but I don’t know!)
  5. trademe 3ton diggers (What the heck is a 3-ton digger and what kind of trade did you have in mind?)
  6. how to get ur butt back (Mine never left…)
  7. womens big hole (I don’t want to know.)
  8. wow rested time (Not always.  See #2.)
  9. over 50 big stomach (In this case, the searcher came to the right place.)
  10. “pointy things” (I wonder if this person has the same “pointy things” I posted about awhile back.)

Next time you search the Internet for something and end up on a page that seems unrelated to what you were initially looking for, remember: that domain owner or blogger is eventually going to check their stats, shake their head, and wonder how the heck you landed on their page. That’s what I’m doing, anyway.   😀

Entry filed under: Random.

Better not pout Do the math 50-32=18

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cheri  |  November 21, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    Wow! acme dynamite….

    Reply
  • 2. okwriter2  |  November 22, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    Really…who in the heck searches for THAT! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Karen  |  November 24, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    I’m reading this and laughing out loud at work…so funny!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,103 hits

Time Flies

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Old is Good (Archives)


