Power of images (WARNING: long)

November 25, 2008 at 6:43 pm 4 comments

As a writer, I like to think my words evoke emotion or action.  Well, at least when I’m working.  Here at the blog?  Not so much… 🙂

Similarly, artists can capture the horror of a Civil War battle on canvas, and photographers can capture on a 4×6 glossy the joy in a little boy’s face as he rides his bicycle for the first time without training wheels.  Movies, though, are the most powerful images for me—something I didn’t realize until a few days ago.

Husband left early Friday for a hunting weekend.  That night, I went through some old VHS tapes looking for one in particular: a late 70s reel-to-reel that I had put on VHS decades ago.  It was video of my nephew taken almost 30 years ago, and I wanted to transfer it to a DVD for him for Christmas.

Turns out it was a much more precious jewel than I remembered.  On the video was film of my mom, walking and talking (even though this was a “silent” movie!) and acting goofy.  At one point, she got right up to the camera and mouthed the words, “I love you.”  I couldn’t help but reciprocate by telling her out loud, “I love you, too, Mom!” That simple act has been the most healing experience for me thus far. 

On Saturday, I spent hours and hours watching videos that husband and I took while on various vacations, mostly in the late 80s and early 90s.  These, of course, had sound, and my trip down memory lane took me on ski trips to several states and on float trips down the Illinois River and to Field of Dreams in Iowa and to many other places.  We were so young and so playful (and so skinny!)…and he used to call me “Babe” all the time!  I don’t remember that!  As a bonus, there was footage of my folks one particular Easter and more at Christmas.

Anyway, I don’t know why we ever quit using that camera.  And for a few days, all I could think about was the many missed opportunities in the last (almost) two decades when we could have been capturing our goofy selves and our loved ones.  But we didn’t.  I want to start again, so I’ve ordered a new camcorder so we can leave our own permanent legacy of what our lives are like from this point on. 

Maybe someday it will bring people as much comfort as what I got from seeing my mom again the way she used to be.  Then again, they may wonder what was so important about capturing “cranky old people getting even older and crankier.”     

Either way, my blog readers (all 4 of you!) will soon be treated to YouTube videos of life in the boonies.  Stay tuned… 😉

Entry filed under: Aging gracefully, Words of wisdom.

Year of the Rat Like–don’t try this at home

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cheri  |  November 25, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    Can’t wait!

    Reply
  • 2. okwriter2  |  November 25, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Yeah, it will be kinda like watching someone’s home movies only much shorter…you can be thankful for that! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Karen  |  November 26, 2008 at 11:47 am

    sounds wonderful, can’t wait!
    I’m so glad you found those tapes, now you can go back in time any time you want to. What fun, and healing, will that be!

    Reply
  • 4. okwriter2  |  November 26, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    Karen,
    You should see the video from Keystone! 🙂 I laughed and laughed…and it was so odd to see Patsy and Kim now that they are gone, which made me cry… 😦
    BUT it also made me long for another GIRLS trip!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,103 hits

Time Flies

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Old is Good (Archives)


