THAT was unexpected!

November 30, 2008 at 10:25 am 2 comments

There’s a television commercial for a Mexican fast food place—can’t remember which one—that uses the theme “That was unexpected!”  I felt the same thing yesterday when something came from out of left field and affected me in a way I wasn’t prepared for. 

The Sunday before Thanksgiving, our pastor’s dad was killed in a car/train collision.  Husband, my dad and I went down to Ada for the funeral the Saturday after Thanksgiving.  It never dawned on me that going to a funeral would bother me…after all, I didn’t know the man.  I was simply there because we know and love our pastor, and he has been such a source of comfort for us since my mom died. 

As I was getting ready that morning, I started feeling uneasy.  By the time we got there (2+ hours later), I was very nervous.  And bawling through the funeral while trying to comfort my dad, who was doing the same thing, was like opening a wound that hadn’t scabbed over.  It was tough!

I’m glad we went.  Really!  I just didn’t expect to react to the situation the way I did.  All the way home, I kept hearing the tag line from that commercial playing over and over in my head.  Not sure why I blogged about this today…just a little reminder, I guess, that life sometimes throws us stuff that is unexpected.  And sometimes it boomerangs around and unexpectedly hits us again.  😥

Entry filed under: Sometimes life sucks..., Words of wisdom.

Mom was here for Thanksgiving…really! Fake it ’til you make it

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rita@Goldivas  |  December 9, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    That happened to me at the first funereal I attended after my father died. It does take you by suprise. Grief is like that.

    Reply
  • 2. okwriter2  |  December 9, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    Thanks, Rita. Someone told me a few days later that the first funeral after losing a loved one is the hardest. I’m just grateful the service wasn’t for someone close to me…I swear, I don’t think I could have taken it! I’m sorry about the loss of your father.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,112 hits

Time Flies

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Old is Good (Archives)


