Fake it ’til you make it

December 1, 2008 at 9:52 pm 1 comment

I heard that saying once (“Fake it ’til you make it”) but it was in regards to the workplace. In other words, if you want a manager’s position, act like a manager ’til you become one.  On Sunday, I tried to apply that saying to my mood.

Did I feel like dragging all of the boxes and crates from the closet and rummaging through Christmas stuff?  NO.  But I did it anyway.

Did I feel like standing outside in the frigid cold and blustery north wind and wrapping garland and lights around the split-rail fence?  NO.  But I did it anyway.

Did I feel like putting out Christmas rugs and applying those sticky Santa decorations on the windows?  NO.  But I did it anyway.

Did I feel like dusting off the holiday knick-knacks and arranging them on the shelves and counters?  NO. But I did it anyway.

Did I feel like finding a place to “stuff the stuff” from the mantle so that I could string greenery and bows and lights and fake poinsettias across it?  NO.  But I did it anyway.

Do I feel like stepping over the stacks of ornaments and tinsel and balls until we go buy a tree and I get it decorated?  NO.  But I will.

I’m not really into the Christmas spirit just yet.  Then again, I don’t usually feel it until about a week before—so maybe I’m not really faking it after all.  Maybe I’m just pretending ’til it finally kicks in.  😉

Entry filed under: Random.

THAT was unexpected! Sleeping around

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Cheri  |  December 2, 2008 at 9:05 am

    Your first Christmas is going to be a tough one. You made an effort to do the Christmasy (that’s a new word) things but you had a big loss this year. Focus instead on the main thing. Jesus love for you and your mom and that In a little while we’ll be with the Father and our loved ones. That is joyous! I’ll be praying for you this season, it took my mom a few years to get over the loss of her sister but it did come around again. Love ya, cheri

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,103 hits

Time Flies

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Old is Good (Archives)


