Makin’ bacon

December 21, 2008 at 8:39 pm 2 comments

I’ve been makin’ bacon too much lately.  But is there anything that makes a house smell better than freshly cooked bacon?  🙂

Those who attended my mom’s funeral may remember the pastor talking about the “party mix” that Mom always made at Christmas.  She did it for as long as I can remember.  Wait…that isn’t saying much because sometimes my remember-er doesn’t work too well…  Let’s just say she has made since I was a little kid, and that was a loooong time ago.  🙄

The recipe Mom used for her Chex party mix was the ORIGINAL recipe.  Oh, sure…the packages of party mix you buy in the stores all say “original recipe” but trust me, they aren’t.  You can tell Mom’s was the REAL original recipe because the ingredient list starts with:

  • 1 cup bacon grease
  • 1 cup oleo

Now how many recipes would dare to list ingredients like that these days?!  Only the ones in the “Wanna Have a Coronary” cookbook.  🙂

So I have fried bacon and more bacon and more bacon.  I finally sent some over to my dad’s house and asked him to fry some because by the time I made party mix for everybody who expected some this year (mom’s sisters and brothers, my dad and my sisters, a few lucky friends), it takes a lot of cups of bacon grease!  I have enough cooked bacon in the freezer to feed a crowd at Denny’s on a busy weekend.

BUT———–I finally finished today!  All of the party mix has been delivered and we have a supply to last us through Christmas.  As much as I love the stuff, I’m kinda glad the cooking part is over until next year.  I’ve fried enough bacon to send hog futures through the roof.  🙂

Entry filed under: On the homefront, Random.

Heigh-Ho, Heigh-Ho… Happy birthday to ME!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cheri  |  December 21, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    Your mom would be proud!

    Reply
  • 2. okwriter2  |  December 23, 2008 at 7:55 am

    Yeah, I know she would. It truly was one of her traditions… everyone cried this year when I gave them their annual allotment. 😥
    And yes, I am serving BLTs…but as I told someone else, they are really just BLs because you can’t get good Ts this time of year.
    Hey, now that I think about it…NEXT YEAR I will save my grease all summer from the BLTs and then I won’t be frying bacon all the month of December! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,133 hits

Time Flies

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Old is Good (Archives)


