Happy birthday to ME!

December 23, 2008 at 7:49 am 4 comments

So today I am still a woman over 50—one year over, to be exact.  🙂

How crummy is it to have a birthday two days before Christmas?  Let me count the ways… 

  • You get birthday gifts wrapped in Christmas paper.
  • You get birthday-and-Christmas gifts that are all one thing (instead of separate gifts for each occasion).
  • You can’t have birthday parties as a kid because school is out, families are too busy doing other things or traveling, etc.
  • You are sometimes forgotten because—well, everyone is too busy thinking about Christmas.  (OK, so my family only forgot ONE year, but I never let them forget that they forgot!)  🙄
  • You’re already so sick of sweet treats that a birthday cake isn’t appealing.
  • You can go out to eat, but every restaurant in town is packed with people who are out doing last-minute shopping.

Having said that, my family has been very good about making it a special (and SEPARATE) occasion.  Mom always made me whatever kind of cake I wanted, and she always sent me out to buy something special for myself.  This year, Sherri bought me a homemade coconut cream pie from someone (at my request), and I bought myself a sherpa-lined fleece jacket and called it my gift from Mom.  She’s not here this year…darn her!  But she’s here in spirit, probably wishing I’d quit griping about having a birthday two days before Christmas.   After all, she had to hear about for 50 years…  🙄

OK, all together now…  “HAPPY BIRTHDAY to me, HAPPY BIRTHDAY to me, HAPPY BIRTHDAY dear Rita, HAPPY BIRTHDAY to me!”  🙂

Entry filed under: Acting Mature. Or not., Aging gracefully.

Makin’ bacon Christmas Eve SING-ALONG: I’m dreaming of a…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cheri  |  December 23, 2008 at 9:02 am

    Your name is in big bold print on my calendar today. So you are one year older than me (for a couple of months). Anyway, have a great day and remember you are only as old as you want to be. I am 35. Cheri

    Reply
  • 2. okwriter2  |  December 23, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    If you are only 35, you had that daughter awfully young. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Mooch  |  December 23, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    Happy Birthday!!!!!

    Reply
  • 4. okwriter2  |  December 24, 2008 at 7:39 am

    Thanks so much, Mooch! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,118 hits

Time Flies

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Old is Good (Archives)


