Top 5 reasons to back up your computer

January 14, 2009 at 1:40 pm 7 comments

How often do you back up your computer?  Since I work from home, my computer  literally pays my bills.  And because I often work on very large projects, it would not be pretty if I lost all of my data.  There are a million reasons to back up your computer, but here are my top five. 

(5) Hardware issues (AKA the “blue screen of death.” I had that once on a $1,500 Dell.  I gave the d*amn thing away rather than spend another minute on the phone with those “customer service” people that I couldn’t understand and that were NOT servicing me!)

(4) Thieves (You know, in case mailbox bandits move up to more serious crimes like breaking and entering.)

(3) Tornados (After all, we live in tornado alley, and I’d probably fall down the cellar stairs if I tried to lug this thing down there.)

(2) Power failure (We’ve had five power outages in the last six weeks.  I have a power supply, but it’s only good for 15 minutes.  If I’m gone or the beeping doesn’t wake me up, my power supply is useless.)

And the number 1 reason to back up your computer is fire. (You know, in case you’re getting ready to jump in the shower and you hear sirens so you run outside barefoot—still carrying the clean underwear you were holding when you walked into the bathroom—and you see fire trucks roaring by and you see smoke billowing on the horizon and the north wind is blowing the smoke your direction at about 50 mph and you know that if the fire isn’t contained, you’ll be in deep doo-doo because you haven’t backed up in a week.  Hey, it could happen…)  🙄

Entry filed under: On the homefront, Paying the bills..

Who am I? A warm tush

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cheri  |  January 14, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    You forgot flood, like when your sleeping and you know it’s raining cats and dogs and you think “what the h*ell I;m not in a flood zone.” And then you wake up and your awesome flower garden with the awesome cement around it held the water in which backed up into your computer room , which has your computer on the floor!

    Reply
  • 2. okwriter2  |  January 14, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    OMG, Cheri! I forgot about your flood! 😯

    Uh, yeah. That goes on the list, too! 😉

    Reply
  • 3. farack  |  January 14, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    You’ve heard of online back ups right? But it takes forever because you have to upload everything.

    What if you were sent an external hard drive, put all your files on there and then the company uploads it all to their online backup area which you can then access? You could do this on an annual basis and make sure none of the above affects you!

    I’d like to know if that service was available, would you be interested?

    Reply
  • 4. okwriter2  |  January 14, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    Oh, sure! Online backups… those got me into a HUGE mess with my ISP recently. 🙄

    When you say, “…the company uploads it…” exactly what “company” are you talking about? I am the company.

    Unless you mean YOUR company. In that case, if it’s FREE… nah, no thanks. 😉

    Reply
  • 5. Mooch  |  January 15, 2009 at 10:17 am

    Ok. Now there is no reason scaring me. I know nothing about backing up things. But you are telling me maybe I should make that my new year resolution. I would cry if I lost my information on my rental program. Ummm….I might be in trouble sometime. Geeze now I have another thing to worry about. LOL.

    Reply
  • 6. okwriter2  |  January 15, 2009 at 11:06 am

    MOOCH! You aren’t backing up? (That THUD you hear is me hitting the floor…) 🙂

    We must chat. You just need a zip drive (or thumb drive or flash drive—they’re called a million things) that you can carry in your purse. At least drag your files to it once a week so that the very worst thing that happens is you have to redo one week of posting.

    I bought one of those little things at Staples on Black Friday for $10 and it was an 8 GB. I also have several that only hold 4 GB. No software, they just plug into your USB port.

    We gotta chat, young lady!

    Reply
  • 7. farack  |  January 15, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    #

    4. okwriter2 | January 14, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    Oh, sure! Online backups… those got me into a HUGE mess with my ISP recently. 🙄

    When you say, “…the company uploads it…” exactly what “company” are you talking about? I am the company.

    Unless you mean YOUR company. In that case, if it’s FREE… nah, no thanks. 😉

    No not my company 😉
    My friend works for Yuntaa.com and I was wondering whether to suggest to him to offer this service to the general public. Like you said, ISP problems and the time to do the uploads takes a long time, so why no send these drives out. However I also see the issue of security

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,067 hits

Time Flies

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Old is Good (Archives)


