Excuses, excuses

February 27, 2009 at 9:02 am 2 comments

I’m fat for the same reasons other people are:

  1. too much food
  2. not enough exercise

I don’t have any excuses for the first—other than just a lack of self-control and laziness.  Working from home, I walk past/through the kitchen dozens of times a day, and it is way too easy to just grab a couple of cookies or a piece of candy.  Oh, sure…the fruit bowl is next to the candy dish, but it’s a shorter reach to the sweet stuff.  😉 The laziness part is just cooking the way we’ve always cooked.  We fry everything, and a meal isn’t a meal without potatoes!

The exercise part…well, I have lots of excuses for that, too!  I work sitting on my butt.  I’m not a “gym” person.  I don’t walk up and down the dirt road because of dogs, snakes, cars “dusting” you when they drive past, etc.  And after all, I could be kidnapped or something.  🙄

But now that we have the pond, I have my own personal walking track. I’ve heard that you can lose weight by walking 10,000 steps a day.  How many times around the pond is 10,000 steps? 

30

How many times around the pond have I walked at one time?

5

I only did that once, but I did walk 3 times around a couple of different days just to see what it was like and to count the number of steps.

I have excuses for not using my “walking track,” too. 

  • I’m a “fair weather” walker (at least 60 degrees out). 
  • We don’t have grass yet, so I don’t want to walk in the mud (OK, so we haven’t had rain in months… :roll:).
  • I might miss an important phone call. (Hey, it could happen!) 

As it warms up and grass sprouts, I’ll have to think up some new excuses.  Just thinking of reasons not to walk is a lot of work!  Too bad that kind of “work” doesn’t burn any calories.

Entry filed under: Aging gracefully.

I’m married to Mikey Release and catch

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cheri  |  February 28, 2009 at 9:38 am

    I bought a new a ir resistance bike and I thought I would plop right down and get with it. 5 minutes and 22 seconds later I’m done.

    Reply
  • 2. okwriter2  |  February 28, 2009 at 9:57 am

    DANG! That’s an eternity for the first time! I would have lasted about…a minute. Maybe. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,118 hits

Time Flies

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Old is Good (Archives)


