Happy birthday, Mom

March 6, 2009 at 7:52 am 2 comments

When my mom was in the hospital in October, the doctors, nurses, etc., came in one-by-one the first few days and asked her how old she was. She always grinned and said, “I’m 79, but I think it will be so cool to be 80.”   She never made it…

img_1599-2

So today is yet another “first” here. We got through the first Thanksgiving without her, then the first Christmas, the first wedding anniversary, and now the first birthday. I offered to fix dinner today, thinking we could all eat dessert first since that’s what she loved to do! But my dad wasn’t up to it…said it’s just too soon.

I’m actually doing OK so far. I have a votive candle burning in my angel candle holder this morning, and I’ll go have lunch later today with one of mom’s sisters. I also cleared my desk today so that I don’t have to work unless I feel like it.

Mom may not have celebrated her 80th birthday here on earth, but she is celebrating her first birthday in heaven… I am grateful for that 😐 but it doesn’t make me miss her any less.

Entry filed under: Sometimes life sucks....

Getting old is so much fun Yes, you have this… Yes, you have that…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cheri  |  March 7, 2009 at 11:03 am

    Just think of what a party they are having in heaven! They don’t have an economic crisis there 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Karen  |  March 13, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    such a beautiful lady!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,112 hits

Time Flies

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Old is Good (Archives)


