This was creepy…

March 26, 2009 at 6:54 am 1 comment

Have you ever had a “near miss” in the car and you were creeped out for awhile afterward? I had a “near miss” this morning…while sitting on the sofa. 

In the morning, I like it dark while I have my coffee and watch the news. I was sitting on the (very brown) couch with only a small lamp on when I thought I saw movement next to me.  I looked—then looked away.  I saw movement again, jumped up, and turned the overhead lights on.  Sure enough, there was a big brown fiddleback (brown recluse) spider climbing down the back cushion toward where I had been sitting.  YIKES! 😯

I quickly squashed it with a paper towel, but I couldn’t get over the “creepiness” of that close call. 

I’m not afraid of spiders.  In fact, I’ve been known to capture them in a jar outside, bring them in the house, and leave them on the counter for a few days.  Don’t ask me why…husband hates it!  And I’ve lived in Oklahoma long enough to know that everybody has fiddleback spiders…people who say they don’t either don’t know where to look or don’t know what to look for. 

Brn.Recluse11

We’ve had close calls before, but it’s been awhile since I had one this close. And after my “near miss” today, I couldn’t shake the creepy feeling.  I kept looking around, surveying the floors and ceilings (and my shoes and the furniture and…). I’ll get over it, but it’s going to be a loooong day. 🙄

(PS: I slept on the sofa last night.  😯  I think I’ll try the bed tonight!)

Entry filed under: On the homefront.

It rained here! PART II: Creepy Stuff

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Whitney  |  March 26, 2009 at 10:29 am

    Ewwwww… I hate that feeling!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,071 hits

Time Flies

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Old is Good (Archives)


