After 40, it’s “patch, patch, patch”

May 3, 2009 at 11:32 am Leave a comment

For many years, my mom had a small ivory colored throw pillow with green letters that read:

After 40, it’s patch, patch, patch

Well, ain’t that the truth. 

For the past 3-4 days—I have had a sore neck. Not like a pain in the neck from sleeping wrong.  It’s more of a lower ear/jaw/gland pain.  *sigh*  My throat isn’t sore to swallow.  My ear doesn’t “ache” like a typical earache. My teeth don’t hurt.  But that entire area on the right side of my face is very tender…much like what I’d expect if someone snuck in a left jab during a bar fight.  But that didn’t happen, so who knows… It could be that when I plucked a whisker from my jawline on that side a few weeks ago, I left a nub that got infected.  (No, I’m not kidding.)

I also have a “thumb thing” that’s been making me crazy. I just noticed it about six months ago, and it seems to be getting a little bigger and a little more tender. I’ve tried (not very successfully) to take pictures of it, but for now just imagine a growth protruding from a joint on my thumb.  *sigh*

And today I am struggling (for yet another month) with icky female issues. In trying to look for the bright spot, I guess I am one month closer to this chapter of my life being over.  I thought saying that would make me feel better, but it doesn’t.  🙄

So Mom’s pillow was right. After 40, it’s patch, patch, patch. 

At 51, I need a bigger patch.

Entry filed under: Aging gracefully.

What just happened? Happy Monday

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,112 hits

Time Flies

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Old is Good (Archives)


