Power down

May 6, 2009 at 8:29 pm 2 comments

I had a conference call today at 1:00.  I’ve known about it for a week, so I had plenty of time to prepare.  Sometimes, though, you can’t prepare for the “stuff” that happens… 

At 10 minutes until 1:00, husband came home from work.  I had my headset on, my recorder ready, and a Word document opened so that I could take notes.  Husband and I exchanged a kiss and a “How was your day?” while I put a few dishes in the dishwasher. 

At 5 minutes until 1:00, as we stood in the kitchen, the power suddenly went off, then came back on, then went back off.  And it stayed off.  🙄

I shut down my computer (I have a small backup power supply) and ran to the closet to find a “real” phone—you know, the kind with one of those twirl-y cords where you have to sit near the phone rather than wander all around the house.  I plugged it in and quickly called to ask someone else to record the conference call.  I then grabbed a notebook and prepared to take notes the old fashioned way…with a pen and paper.  *sigh*

A few minutes before 1:00, I dialed in for the call.  HEY! WAIT A MINUTE!  Just because I’m having to forfeit some of the modern conveniences doesn’t mean the call has to be dreadful.  I stretched my phone cord out the front door and sat down on the porch. 

The gorgeous weather (first sunny day in awhile!), and the sound of the birds and the soft “ching” of wind chimes in the background actually made that 90-minute phone call enjoyable!  And I am blessed enough to get paid for this!!!

Who knows—maybe in the future I’ll “power down” on purpose from time to time.  😉

Entry filed under: On the homefront, Paying the bills., Words of wisdom.

Happy Monday Everyone else looks so old!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Whitney  |  May 8, 2009 at 1:52 am

    Ooooohhhhh…. That’s a great idea!!

    Reply
  • 2. okwriter2  |  May 8, 2009 at 7:10 am

    I miss you, Miss Whitney!
    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,189 hits

Time Flies

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Old is Good (Archives)


