Everyone else looks so old!

May 7, 2009 at 5:13 pm 5 comments

Have you ever noticed that everyone else ages faster than you do?

I notice that when I see someone I haven’t seen in years.  I always think, “Wow! They sure have aged!

Yet I don’t think I’ve aged at all.  Well, not too much.  Maybe I’m a bit wrinkled around the mouth.  And the eyes.  Oh, and then there’s that deep crevice between my eyebrows. 

But that’s about it.  Unless you count the gray hair.  And everyone gets a few gray hairs, right?  Mine is more like silver…or white.  And it’s genetic, so that doesn’t really count.

I suppose I’m a little frumpy these days, but that is more laziness and—well, I’m not really into fashion.  Or caring what others think.

The plumpness could be considered aging, but it’s probably just that I eat too much.  Not that I eat more than 3 meals a day…but I like to snack between meals.  In all honesty, it’s a couple of snacks between breakfast and lunch, then a couple more between lunch and dinner.

So despite the wrinkles and gray hair and frumpiness and fluff, I count my blessings that I’m not aging as quickly as everyone else.  At least not that I’ve noticed.  😀

Entry filed under: Aging gracefully, Words of wisdom.

Power down The next best thing

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Whitney  |  May 8, 2009 at 1:50 am

    I love your attitude about it! ;o)

    Reply
    • 2. tippietoes2010  |  May 13, 2010 at 1:36 pm

      I think a lot of these people we knew in school were rode hard and hung out to dry lol. We just knew how to take care of ourselves better.

      Reply
      • 3. Rita  |  May 16, 2010 at 7:46 am

        I am probably guilty of not taking very good care of myself. But I haven’t been “rode hard” in awhile. My joints hurt too bad! LOL!

  • 4. Cheri  |  May 8, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    I know exactly how you feel. Everytime I see someone I went to school with, I say man they sure got old! Then I look at my daughter and say “I don’t look THAT old do I?” and she knows the proper response! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. okwriter2  |  May 8, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    Cheri,
    You are the exception…and I really meant to include that when I wrote about people looking old. You look just like you always did!! And it’s not fair!!
    🙂
    Rita

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,133 hits

Time Flies

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Old is Good (Archives)


