Good thing I’m not having a medical emergency

June 18, 2009 at 5:03 pm 1 comment

There’s been a lot of talk lately in the news about socialized medicine and reforming our health care system.  Honestly, I’m all for it because I don’t think it could be much more screwed up than what it is.  😦

I went to the doctor on Tuesday to have my thumb thang looked at. The doctor did exactly as I expected—she wants to send me to a hand doctor in OKC.  I whipped out my printout of the hand doctors in OKC who are on the almighty “insurance list” and told her to pick one. 

Out of 15 or so, she picked the one I was leaning toward and left the room to have someone call and schedule the appointment. A few minutes later, I heard someone out in the hall on the phone, leaving a message with the doctor’s office in OKC. Turns out they are closed on Tuesdays…so she comes into the exam room where I’m waiting and says, “Call us back in a few days if you haven’t heard anything.”  🙄

Today is technically “a few days later,” so I called. My appointment is August 12—almost TWO MONTHS from now.  *sigh*

I don’t like doctors. I really don’t like insurance companies. And I really, really don’t have great things to say about our health care system.  More whining to come on this subject…you can bet on it!

Entry filed under: Hillbilly Healthcare, On the homefront.

Husband must have the vacation bug The problem with customer service (rant alert)

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Cheri  |  June 19, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    If you think it’s bad now just hold on to your hat….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,133 hits

Time Flies

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Old is Good (Archives)


