All about Patsy (kinda long)

July 17, 2009 at 9:59 pm 1 comment

Today I feel compelled to write about my dear friend Patsy. Some of you who read my blog met her years ago.

Patsy and I first became acquainted in 1979 because our husbands (at the time) worked together. She told me later that was determined not to like me…but she did. *grin* The first time she and I “hung out” together, we we went to Sonic for a Coke. (Yes, we had Sonic drive-ins 30 years ago!) After that, hardly a day went by in the next five years that we didn’t talk to each other at least once…and often we saw each other multiple times.

We went through the Jane Fonda phase together (ummm, feel it burn!), we inspired each other to become better racquetball players, we spent hours at the bar playing PacMan, and we both loved fresh blackberry jam on toast. She was my first real “adult” friend.

When I moved to Enid from SE Kansas in 1984, Patsy and I still kept in touch by phone and saw each other when we could. I always knew I could count on a Christmas card from her with a note that said, “Happy Birthday, Reet.” She eventually went online and encouraged me to buy a computer. When I finally did, our communication picked up some—but not nearly enough.

In early March 2001, I got an email from her that I still have. She was excited (and disappointed) that she and her sister Kim had concert tickets. “Well Kim and I were actually going to the Leon Russell concert. Bought the tickets and four days after we got them, they cancelled the concert. Haven’t heard why yet.”

On March 31, I got another email from her that she sent about noon.  It was one of those chain emails—this one was a Prayer Wheel—that you were supposed to forward to people. Please read it.

Father, I ask you to bless my friends reading this right now. I am asking You to minister to their spirit at this very moment. Where there is pain, give them Your peace and mercy. Where there is self doubting, release a renewed confidence in Your ability to work through them. Where there is tiredness, or exhaustion, I ask You to give them understanding, patience, and strength as they learn submission to your leading. Where there is spiritual stagnation, I ask You to renew them by revealing Your nearness, and by drawing them into greater intimacy with You.

Where there is fear, reveal Your love, and release to them Your courage. Where there is a sin blocking them, reveal it, and break its hold over my friend’s life. Bless their finances, give them greater vision, and raise up leaders, and friends to support and encourage them. Give each of them discernment to recognize the evil forces around them, and reveal to them the power they have in You to defeat it. I ask You to do these things in Jesus’ name.

In love, Your Friend

I thought nothing of it. But just 18 hours later, Patsy died in a car accident. The Leon Russell concert had been rescheduled, and she and Kim died on their way home afterward. I went back and read the prayer—this time it held such a special meaning for me.

I don’t know why Patsy (or PK, as I always called her) was heavy on my heart tonight. Perhaps because she is a Leo…so this is her time of year. I sure miss you, girl!

Entry filed under: Random, Sometimes life sucks....

Today’s “near death” experience My life broken down into segments

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  July 20, 2009 at 3:19 am

    I love that prayer…..so beautiful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,107 hits

Time Flies

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Old is Good (Archives)


