Let the fish kill begin

August 6, 2009 at 2:21 pm 1 comment

Husband has always said that it will rain if you kill a snake, cut its head off, and turn it belly up.  Last night, a storm blew through…and another again today. Two miles east of us, they got several inches of rain.  We got nothin’. Zero. Nada. Zip.  *sigh*

So I decided awhile ago to walk down to the pond in search of slithery things. Wouldn’t you know, I didn’t see a single snake. But I kept seeing bubbles on top of the water and a little flash of movement with them. I walked around the pond (which takes fewer steps each day), and by the time I made it back to the dock, I could see what was happening. One of the perch was hitting the top of the water—and it wasn’t searching for food.

I suspect this day marks the first of who-knows-how-many that we see dead or dying fish.  Yesterday, I told husband that I am ready to sell the house and move two miles east of here.  (If it wasn’t so dang much trouble packing, I might actually do it!) But I guess we’ll sit tight and trust that there is a reason we live in this perpetual DEAD ZONE and can’t get rain even though it falls north, south, east, and west of us.  😦 

I’m waiting to hear that reason…  still waiting….  still waiting…  still waiting….  still waiting…  tapping fingers anxiously and still waiting…  still waiting….  still waiting…

Entry filed under: On the homefront, Sometimes life sucks....

Here we go again What we did on summer vacation (WARNING: long)

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  August 10, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    It’s so sad to lose all those fish and the pond….it was so pretty – but it will be again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,067 hits

Time Flies

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Old is Good (Archives)


