Ouch. Ouch. Ouch.

August 20, 2009 at 10:39 am Leave a comment

So, I had my “thumb thang” taken off Tuesday morning at Mercy Hospital in OKC. The drive down was dreadful. Not because it was so early (we left home at 4:15 a.m.)…but because the weather was horrific. Lightning, torrential rain, flooding.  *sigh*

We got there by 6:00 and my surgery took place right on time at 8:00. The main nerve in my thumb was pretty tangled up with this tumor, so it took a little bit of extra maneuvering to get all of the growth out of there.  I learned a couple of valuable lessons.

  1. There is no such thing as a “painless” surgical recovery, even on something as simple as a thumb.
  2. Thumbs are important. If you don’t think so, try not being able to use yours for a few days.
  3. Pain pills are an important part of the healing process—even though they make me sleep.

I’m just 48 hours out of surgery and able to use my keyboard. My thumb hurts reeeeeealllly bad.  But I’m trying to suck it up for awhile and not take a pain pill so that I can get some work done. My stitches come out on Monday, and right now that thought makes me want to throw up.

Entry filed under: Hillbilly Healthcare, Sometimes life sucks....

Things that make an old woman grumpy Who flipped the HOT switch?

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,107 hits

Time Flies

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Old is Good (Archives)


