I’m a pretty tough old bag but…

August 25, 2009 at 8:51 am 2 comments

Editorial note: the lack of a comma between “pretty” and “tough old bag” means that I don’t consider myself “pretty” AND “tough.”  Just a “pretty tough old bag.”  🙂  

I promise this will be my last whine about this stupid “thumb thang.”  I’m a pretty tough old bag, but what happened on Monday shocked and embarrassed me. Husband drove me to OKC to get the stitches taken out, and I was having a fairly good day, so I didn’t take my pain meds.  Oooooh!  HUGE MISTAKE!

The good news is that my incision is healing well. The bad news is that my incision is healing (too) well. Seems my skin was growing back around the stitches and didn’t want to turn loose. The nurse told me that I could say all the naughty words I needed to while they pried them out, so I tried to hold my hand still while squirming in the chair, said some naughty words, and bawled like a baby. They took a break, and I said some more naughty words while emptying the box of tissue. After I said a few more naughty words, they decided to numb the site so they could get the stitches out.

THREE injections later, it was numb enough that they managed to finish—and I cried the entire time and said some naughty words.   *sigh*  It’s pretty dang sore today, and I go back in a few weeks for a re-check.

Boy…no matter how tough I thought I was, this stupid little tumor unveiled the “real” me.  I’m NOT a tough old bag. I’m a whiney old woman with a colorful vocabulary. 

Entry filed under: Random, Sometimes life sucks....

Who flipped the HOT switch? The “butt ‘n gut” treatment

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  August 25, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    ouch!! sounds so painful….but my first thought is what in the h—is wrong with the doctor that put you through that much pain before numbing your thumb. they deserved every colorful word you threw at them!

    Reply
  • 2. okwriter2  |  August 25, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    Karen: taking out the stitches wasn’t supposed to hurt. That’s why they didn’t numb it first.

    And even when they asked if I wanted it numb, I told them NO–just hurry and get them out! I thought I could get through it. WRONG!! 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,067 hits

Time Flies

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Old is Good (Archives)


