Mercy, Mercy

September 9, 2009 at 7:25 pm 1 comment

Today I drove to OKC to let the hand surgeon have one last look at my thumb. (No, this isn’t going to be yet another “cry baby” post about my digit!) To get to the doctor’s office, I had to drive right by the Oklahoma Heart Hospital—the place where Mom took her last breath October 15, 2008.

Much of what happened the week she was there is a blur, but today I recalled very vividly one particular incident. Some of us family members were with her 24/7, and I somehow got the night shift. About the 3rd or 4th night there, it was very foggy. I sat on the couch/bed in her room, watching her sleep. For whatever reason, I turned to look out the window.  I saw a blurry light in the distance, high off the ground, fading in and out.  What could it be?

Within a few minutes, the fog broke just enough that I could distinguish the object I’d been squinting at: a large rotating white cross with the word Mercy.  I was instantly torn between feeling very comforted and very afraid.  I silently prayed that God would show us His Mercy, which made me feel better…but I feared that His mercy might mean taking her to His “home” rather than sending her home with us.

Oddly, we’d been there that long and I never realized we were right next to Mercy Hospital. I suppose we were just too busy pacing and worrying and making phone calls and such that I hadn’t taken time to notice my surroundings.

So when I saw the cross today and was reminded of what happened last fall, I knew I wanted to blog about it. Not my usual jovial message, but I hope it will prompt you to hug someone special and tell them you love them.  If you do that, it will be worth the few minutes it took me to share this story and the few minutes it took you to read it. 

Entry filed under: Words of wisdom.

Welcome to “Old Lady-dom” The iguana smuggler is coming!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  September 15, 2009 at 9:39 am

    very beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,133 hits

Time Flies

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Old is Good (Archives)


