My “pain in the butt”

October 21, 2009 at 8:41 pm 6 comments

WHINE ALERT!!  I have a pain in the butt.  No, really.  A bad pain in the butt. I’ve kept it to myself for a long time, secretly hoping it would get better.  But alas, I finally had to resort to Hillbilly Healthcare and go see a doctor. 

Sometime around the first of September, I had a little “incident” and injured my hiney.  About a week later, it got very sore…and it’s been very sore ever since.

I finally went to the doctor last week, and she ordered an x-ray to be sure I hadn’t either broken my tailbone or developed a tumor like the one on my thumb. The results were all good, so it is apparently a “bruise.” 

If you’ve ever injured your tailbone, you can stop reading now because you know how bad I’m suffering.  If you’ve been lucky enough never to have this happen, well—let’s just say it is DREADFUL!  The day I went for my x-ray, a lady at the hospital told me she’d bruised hers once, and it took her 9 months to heal.  I can’t imagine…

Based on the x-rays, my doc referred me to another doc, and I go see him next Tuesday (10/27). From what my main doc said and what I read online, many patients get quick relief from an injection directly into the tailbone. It is done using fluoroscopy (sp?), which is a fancy word for a real-time x-ray that allows the doc to guide the needle into just the right spot.

I’m hoping and praying for a treatment on Tuesday—as opposed to one of those “Let’s schedule it for another day” appointments. I am now 8 weeks into this, and my “pain in the butt” is about to get the best of me.  😦

Entry filed under: Hillbilly Healthcare, Sometimes life sucks....

Time flies… PART II of my pain in the butt—plus some perspective

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cheri  |  October 22, 2009 at 11:02 am

    It’s hell getting old!

    Reply
  • 2. okwriter2  |  October 23, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    No kidding! Earlier this week, some friends and I were chatting (after a funeral, no less…) when one of them pointed out that we were all talking about our ailments.

    UGH!

    Reply
  • 3. Susan  |  October 25, 2009 at 10:38 am

    Well, that’s sucky! I was thinking about you this morning and thought I might page you on the KT. Do you still lurk there?

    I’ve been out of work for two weeks with shingles pain, but after more meds and more x-ray than I ever wanted, I’m feeling okay, and grateful for that. I learned that pain is like depression: It’s exhausting, and it takes over your life. It’s hard to care about anything when you’re in a lot of pain. Hope this is happily resolved for you soon!

    Reply
  • 4. lphop  |  October 27, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    See, this is why ‘moving up’ is gonna be tough! A literal pain in the butt…lol! Enjoyed your post, regardless of subject…really! 😉
    Lynn (NJ)

    Reply
  • 5. okwriter2  |  October 27, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    Susan,
    Sorry to hear about your shingles. I haven’t been to the KT in quite awhile. “Life” just keeps getting in the way of so many things, and I don’t know whether to laugh or cry about that…
    Rita

    Reply
  • 6. okwriter2  |  October 28, 2009 at 6:56 am

    Lynn: “Moving up” will be tough…but “standing up” is worse! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,118 hits

Time Flies

October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Old is Good (Archives)


