The procedure to fix my butt

November 8, 2009 at 10:07 am Leave a comment

Okay, so it’s not technically my “butt” that’s the problem. It’s my tailbone.  But because they are so close together—and because it’s faster and easier to type “butt,” I’ll just go with that.  🙂

I went last Tuesday for my two injections. I had to fast after midnight on Monday, which is never fun.  And my appointment wasn’t until 10:30 AM, which meant waaaaaaay too many hours without coffee.  I was a trooper, though, right up until 11:30 when they STILL hadn’t started.  Grrrrrrr.

For various reasons, they were running behind (no pun intended), and there was some confusion about which injections I was to receive. So by the time the doctor walked into the procedure room at noon, I was sprawled out on a table with my butt in the air, bawling like a baby and mopping up the tears and snot with my bare hand. Not a pretty picture, is it?

The last thing I remember was the nurse asking how much sedative to administer and some guy cleaning the injection site with a cold, sticky liquid (too much info, yet?).  Next thing I knew, I was sitting in a room fully dressed, and a nurse was standing there asking if I wanted coffee.

It’s 5 days later now, and my pain IS better. Actually, it’s just numb.  But numb is better than pain.  The injection site is still sore, and I’m laying on ice packs several times a day and taking mega doses of Ibuprofen.  I’m hopeful that by the time of my follow-up appointment on November 18, I will be good as new.  Well, maybe not “new” but at least as good as I was.  Then again, I wasn’t very good… so maybe I should say “as good as I used to be a long time ago.”  Come to think of it, that’s probably not gonna happen either.

Let’s just say I’m hoping my pain continues to subside. I feel like someone hit the PAUSE button on my life back in September, and I’m ready for them to hit the RESUME button.  🙂

Entry filed under: Aging gracefully, Hillbilly Healthcare.

Practicing for retirement… My co-workers sleep in trees

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,071 hits

Time Flies

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Old is Good (Archives)


