Shape up and ship out!

November 16, 2009 at 6:18 pm 2 comments

November is half over, and I decided it’s time to shape up!  Not “shape up” as in “stretch out on the floor and do sit-ups.” I mean “shape up” as in “getting ready to ship out.”  I cruise to the Bahamas with Sheryl and Karen in

62 days!

So if it’s not exercise, what is my “shape up” plan?  Well, I started drinking wine.  🙂 

Seriously, I’ve never been a wine drinker—because I don’t like most wines I’ve tried, and they give me headache. When sis was here last month, she told me what I should try based on what she knew I liked, so I bought a bottle of wine the other day.  Had my first glass last night and by golly, it was good!   Soon I’ll ramp up my routine to “drinking a glass of wine and holding on to a railing” (you know, just in case that skill becomes necessary).  🙂

The other thing I’m doing to prepare is tanning.  Yes, I know how dangerous tanning beds are.  No, I don’t care!  Lordy, 25+ years ago, I used to lay in those things daily, and I don’t have skin cancer (YET).  And if I have it already and don’t know it, well—I don’t WANT to know it until after the cruise!

There IS a real problem with this tanning thing, though.  Even though I’ll be wearing a one-piece, age-appropriate bathing suit on the cruise, I’m tanning in bikini underwear.  I’ve only been twice and already have some color.  The problem?  I can’t see my bikini line without using both hands to hold my belly up and out of the way.  And on the backside, tan cellulite looks just as bad as lily-white cellulite.

Ah, well, in mid-January I’ll be on a beach or a boat, sipping a beverage and letting my cares melt away. If only it were that easy to melt fat away…  🙂 

Entry filed under: Acting Mature. Or not., Aging gracefully.

Getting naked Bottoms up

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cheri  |  November 17, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    I remember a couple of girls who could drink “Boonesfarm strawberry hill” with the best of them!!! 🙂 You are going to have a blast!

    Reply
  • 2. okwriter2  |  November 18, 2009 at 6:15 am

    Cheri:
    I know you’re not talking about ME! 🙂 You must mean Nita… LOL!
    And yes, I’m excited about the cruise (hope my butt is better by then so I can do the slide).
    The cruise is mostly your fault, ya know…that pic of you, Dennis and Whit by that cruise ship inspired me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,177 hits

Time Flies

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Old is Good (Archives)


