Why old women should never multi-task

December 21, 2009 at 10:53 pm 4 comments

Last Thursday (PM or “pre-migraine), I was thinking about how I really needed to be cleaning house but was instead getting  ready for a follow-up appointment with my tailbone doctor. Sitting on a bench at the foot of the bed, I decided that as soon I was dressed, I would at least clean the toilet in our bathroom before I left for town.

I started to put on the socks I randomly chose from the drawer, but wouldn’t you know…they both had holes in them?!  (How the holes got there and why they were in the drawer are things I’ll never know.)

Anyway, I grabbed another pair and put them on—then got up to throw the old ones away.  I walked into our bathroom and…threw them in the toilet.

Yes, really.   🙄

I had a stop to make on the way to the doctor’s office.  I went inside the building and—ummm, sure enough, I had put on un-holy socks, but I was still wearing my house shoes!!!  How humiliating. But whatcha gonna do?  🙄

Needless to say, by the time I arrived at the doctor’s, I could tell my mind was in far too many places at once…but not any one place long enough to concentrate.  I was frustrated!  So by the time my appointment time rolled around, and then another 15 minutes went by, and there were still 4 people ahead of me, I walked out.  😡

Slow me down, Lord!  My blood pressure can’t take much more of this craziness!


Entry filed under: Aging gracefully, Menopause ALERT, Random.

I remember when… HAPPY BIRTHDAY to me!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cheri  |  December 22, 2009 at 9:22 am

    It’s OK . I haven’t had a ticket in 29 1/2 years and I have been stopped three times in the last 4 months. My mind just wanders and I am speeding. the bad thing is I don’t see them in my mirror so one came to my house and the other to my work! Hey isn’t someone having a birthday real soon???? No whining about it!. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. okwriter2  |  December 22, 2009 at 9:58 am

    Cheri! My gosh! Three times in four months? I hadn’t had a ticket in FOREVER, either. Then right after Mom died, I got one in a school zone. OUCH! To make matters worse, I was on my way from the drugstore—I had just picked up my migraine meds coz I was having a bad headache. *sigh*

    Yep, Wednesday is my birthday, but I’m not whining coz I’ll get gifts! 🙂 I only asked for ONE thing. We’ll see if he was listening…

    Reply
  • 3. Karen  |  December 22, 2009 at 11:25 am

    Reet, you were having a bad day weren’t you….but you gave me a good laugh!! I really do hope the rest of 2009 is better for you….

    Reply
  • 4. okwriter2  |  December 22, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    Yeah, I felt like a REAL dork about the house shoes. Don’t you know I was stylin’ in my old lady car and my old lady house shoes? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,107 hits

Time Flies

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Old is Good (Archives)


