I want a Health-O-Meter

February 26, 2010 at 4:34 pm 1 comment

I wasn’t a huge fan of George Jetson when I was a kid. But I thought some of the high-tech stuff on the cartoon show was neat. 

As I’ve gotten older, I wish we had some of the gadgets they had—and some they didn’t have. One I’ve always wanted is a Health-O-Meter.  I envision something built into a countertop with a glass top big enough for you to place your palm on daily. The “machine” beneath the glass plate (or built into it) would then do a comprehensive health check and display your vitals, as well as alert you to what is going on in your body.  Not just vague descriptions—but a real-time update and diagnosis of anything abnormal.

If I’d had a Health-O-Meter this morning, it would have told me why I woke up on fire at midnight.  It didn’t feel like a night sweat or hot flash type incident.  I truly felt as if flames were shooting from my body.  A few minutes after kicking the covers off, I yanked my shirt off.  A few minutes after that, I got up and turned on the ceiling fan.  Eventually, I went back to sleep but it wasn’t restful slumber.

Was it hormones?  Maybe.  But my Health-O-Meter would have told me for sure.  It also would have told me what happened to my left eye in the night and why it was so swollen this morning that I felt like my face was full of novacaine.  You know when you go to the dentist and your face is so puffy that you can see your cheek in your line of vision?  It was like that, and it hasn’t gone down all these hours later.  *sigh*

So this would have been a good day for a Health-O-Meter. But on the flip side, I’d have probably worn one out the last few years…and my luck, it would be out of warranty.  For now, I’ll just continue to “guess” what these weird symptoms are.  And husband will probably hope that whatever made me HOT keeps happening. He hasn’t seen me sleep nekkid in years, and it excited him.  😀

Entry filed under: Aging gracefully, Menopause ALERT.

One out of three aint bad! It’s “Attitude of Gratitude” month

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Rita  |  February 26, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    Sometimes stuff I write gives me the creeps. Just 20 minutes after I posted this to my blog, my phone rang. It was some little old lady who asked, “Is this the health screening place?”
    Uh, no…wrong number. ??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,067 hits

Time Flies

February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Old is Good (Archives)


