Do YOU believe?

March 6, 2010 at 11:17 am 8 comments

Today is Mom’s birthday, and she came to see me!  I’ve been quite emotional all week, dreading the day and crying at the most unexpected moments.  But something happened this morning that made me feel much better. 

After husband fixed us a nice breakfast, I went to the garage to feed the cats. He came out there and told me that while he was making the bed, he saw puffs of white smoke—3 different times—blowing by the patio doors from south to north.  We tried to rationalize it, of course.  Maybe it was a big long spider web?  Maybe it was ash from where the guys south of us burned their field a week ago?  Neither seemed plausible and there obviously wasn’t a fire anywhere, so we shrugged it off.

Then I began to wonder if it had been my mom.  Sounds silly, I know, but what else could explain it?  And if it had been her, I was jealous that husband got to see it and not me.  (He had a special visit from her hours after she died, so I shouldn’t have been surprised.)  I followed him outside and watched him feed the birds, listening to him babble about moving this feeder to another spot, and that feeder to some other place.  As he talked, I saw it—the small “puff” of white smoke blow by!  And almost immediately after that, another “puff” blew by!  I asked if he had emptied the bucket of fireplace ashes because that’s what it reminded me of.  No, he hadn’t. 

“Did you see it, too?”  he asked.

“Yeah, I did!  Twice!” 

It was, without a doubt, the strangest thing I’ve ever seen.  And inexplicable.  It absolutely made no sense whatsoever.  But it made me feel better…and I choose to believe it was Mom’s way of letting me know she is here in spirit even as she celebrates her birthday in heaven.  It’s going to be a good day, after all! 

Entry filed under: Words of wisdom.

On March 4, I am grateful for… On March 10, I am grateful for…

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MaryAnn  |  March 6, 2010 at 11:26 am

    What a great sign from your Mom. Hope the rest of your day is great!

    Reply
    • 2. okwriter2  |  March 6, 2010 at 12:21 pm

      Thanks, Mary Ann! It’s all good… 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Karen  |  March 6, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    That is so beautiful…you and your Mom have always been connected spiritually…have a wonderful day!

    Reply
    • 4. okwriter2  |  March 6, 2010 at 1:03 pm

      Thanks, Karen! And you know my mom…if she was going to show herself somehow, it would be in the form of smoke—she probably wants a cigarette about now! HA! HA!

      Reply
  • 5. Ann Solinski  |  March 6, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    That’s such a sweet blessing. Am glad you had the stillness to see and enjoy it!

    Reply
    • 6. okwriter2  |  March 6, 2010 at 7:32 pm

      Ann: Funny thing was, I was outside with the cats Friday night, boo-hooing and wishing for a sign from Mom. I wanted one soooo bad…but it never came. I don’t know if most people believe in this kinda stuff or not. I do and my mom did! 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. okwriter2  |  March 6, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    MOOCH (my cousin who is a daily blog reader) made me laugh so hard today when we talked about this. I was telling her that I wouldn’t get out of bed this morning because I just dreaded the day…I woke up 3 different times and kept rolling over and going back to sleep.

    She said, “Just think if you’d have got your a** out of bed early what you might have seen!” 😀

    Reply
  • 8. mooch  |  March 7, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    LMAO. Glad I could give you a laugh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,067 hits

Time Flies

March 2010
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Old is Good (Archives)


