Butt-in-the-chair time

April 6, 2010 at 9:55 pm 4 comments

I sometimes worry that I spend too much time doing nothing… but I spent some  QUALITY “butt-in-the-chair” time this evening.

What is QUALITY “butt in the chair” time?  For me, it was walking to the pond about 7:00 without a house phone or a cell phone.  Truth is, I didn’t even tell husband where I was going—just walked out and closed the door.  I sat in the glider on the dock as the sun went far enough down behind the treetops that it wasn’t bothersome.  I watched the water bugs make random circles atop the water and a few small turtles bob their heads up and down as they floated lazily around.

A nearby neighbor was working his field for awhile…I recognized the clinking sound of his tractor each time he turned a corner. When I heard him shut down the tractor and start his diesel pickup, I knew he must be headed home for a late supper.  Male and female cardinals filled the void with their evening song.

Eventually, the sun reached the horizon and turned the bottoms of the clouds a pretty pink.  The wind began to lay, but I occasionally felt a comfortably warm breeze that made me forget about the wicked winter weather we had as recently as a few weeks ago.  My cats lounged with me until it was almost dark. Just as the solar lights began to blink on and off and the owls began to beckon each other from the treetops, I walked back to the house.

Yep.  QUALITY butt-in-the-chair time.

Entry filed under: On the homefront.

Predicting April Hairy women over 50 (and more)…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cheri  |  April 7, 2010 at 7:24 am

    Those times are wind down times for me. Out on the deck watching the baseball kids across the field, or the swimmers at the park. Listening to the crickets in the summer. Helps your mind and body wind down

    Reply
  • 2. Rita  |  April 7, 2010 at 8:50 am

    Amen, Cheri! Seems to clear out all of the cobwebs. Problem is, I don’t allow myself to do it often enough!

    Reply
  • 3. Karen  |  April 9, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    It sounds perfect…..and always allows me to feel closer to God!

    Reply
  • 4. Rita  |  April 9, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    It is amazing…all that He has made for us if we just stop to enjoy it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,133 hits

Time Flies

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Old is Good (Archives)


