But you tore up my floor!

April 27, 2010 at 6:26 pm 4 comments

So I’m in the midst of a work-a-thon this week…where I start early (before the sun comes up) and work late (long after the sun goes down).  During all this, I didn’t need to deal with an appliance repair kid. I made the appointment early last week to have someone come out and look at our spare fridge. Yes, it’s 17 years old.  But the fridge had quit cooling and there was ice building up in the back.  I wanted to save it if possible.

8:30 AM – Appointment time. Appliance repair kid (ARK) hasn’t shown.

9:15 AM – ARK  calls and finally shows up right afterward.

9:30 AM – ARK says, “You have a problem with your defroster.”  (DUH)  “You can either pay me $30 to defrost it or do it yourself and call me to come back out.”  I chose to do it myself.

10:45 AM – Freezer is defrosted (thank God for a good hair dryer). Called ARK and he said he’d be back out. Oh, I forgot to mention that while defrosting freezer part, I noticed he tore a hole in my vinyl floor when he pulled the fridge out.  *sigh*

4:45 PM – I call ARK and ask if he is coming back today. “Yes, we have to stop and pick up something.”  (Notice he said “we”…)

5:15 PM – ARK and owner of business tell me I need a new something-or-other.  (Defrost timer?)  I ask how much.  “Service call is $70 and part is about $35.”  I showed him my floor and said, “So…you’ll fix my fridge and we’ll call it even?”

Business owner agreed.  We’ll see if they show up tomorrow as promised.

By the way, do you have any idea how icky it gets behind a fridge in six years?  YIKES!

Entry filed under: On the homefront, Paying the bills..

Goodbye, shoes I’m sick…and I don’t need a doctor…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mooch  |  April 27, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    You know you have really had a crappy couple of weeks. Hopefully this will put you on the downhill side where the sun is shining and u r caught up.

    Reply
  • 2. Rita  |  April 27, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    I’ll be caught up in about a week. Maybe… 🙂

    And I don’t think I’m safe on the “downhill side” of anything!

    Reply
  • 3. Annski  |  April 27, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    I would say something about keeping your sunny side up but, alas, you got rid of those shoes!

    Reply
  • 4. Rita  |  April 27, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    VERY funny, Ann! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,103 hits

Time Flies

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Old is Good (Archives)


