What little boys play with

May 25, 2010 at 9:13 pm 2 comments

After several inches of rain last week, our pond was brim full.  We finally subsided to a trickle going over the spillway by yesterday.  And then we got another 2.8″ this morning in about two hours.  The rain quit, and we had a torrent of water gushing over the spillway.

I went to a funeral this afternoon, and I was happy to see the water had slacked off by the time I returned home. I put my pink Crocs on and waded into the water on the spillway, coercing dozens of bullheads that had come from upstream to continue moving on downstream. I watched parades of crawdads perilously making their way back into our pond, grasping at grass and twigs as they traversed the current. Occasionally, I saw perch. I would sneak up from behind and nab them, then carefully release them back into the pond.

The entire time, I was standing on slick shale in ankle deep muddy water that was flowing at a steady rate. And it wasn’t just one trip down there. I made several…and spent at least 30-45 minutes each time.  In fact, I just came in from the last trip of the evening.

Pray tell, what is a 52-year-old woman wearing hot pink clown shoes doing traipsing around in the mud and muck looking for water critters?  I don’t know if it’s a “normal” part of menopause or if I’m mysteriously enthralled by the things little boys play with or if I’m just downright nuts. 

Oh, my.  I just realized that what I wrote came out sounding waaaaay wrong!  😯  😳

Entry filed under: Acting Mature. Or not., On the homefront.

And then I cleaned… “Laugh In” and Menopause: the common factor

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Annski  |  May 25, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    So, are you asking us to vote on this one? But ya gotta remember, ‘downright nuts’ isn’t too dang bad. I try to make it work for me. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Rita  |  May 27, 2010 at 6:38 am

    Sounds like you just voted… 🙂
    And you’re right. There are worse things than being nuts.
    By that, I mean “being mentally unstable”—not literally “being testicles.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,067 hits

Time Flies

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Old is Good (Archives)


