A time to remember

September 15, 2010 at 1:04 pm 6 comments

I hope this particular time in my life will be one that I’ll always remember.

Right now, my sister PJ is here from Maine. She is living in the red house on the property that adjoins ours—well, she and her 9 dogs, 2 cats, 2 birds, and an iguana. PJ got here the end of August and will be here a few months. Despite the occasional drama (not between us…), we are having a ball!

One day last week, we were in town (that scary place) running some errands when we decided to go to Sonic. A few days earlier, we had been there and nobody would answer when I rang the button, so on this trip, I decided to just go to the drive-through window. I did and pulled straight up behind the car at the pick-up window. PJ said, “Don’t you think you ought to stop and place our order first?”

DUH. I had failed to do that! Anyway, I started laughing as I put the car in reverse and backed up, and then we both laughed, and then I could hardly place our order because we were laughing so hard! When I finally got to the pick-up window, we were both laughing so hard that even the girl who handed me the food started laughing!  I’m sure she thought the “old fat women in the old white Cadillac” were stoned and stopped there for munchies.

As we left Tulsa a few nights ago (at midnight) after being at the hospital all day while Jen and Chris brought little Addison into the world, PJ and I were both brain dead. We’d been up for 24 hours (she had been up much longer), and we were super tired. We’d stopped at a Walmart to pick up some dog shampoo to get the smell out of her 3 dogs that had been sprayed by a skunk while we were gone.

This Walmart was undergoing a massive remodel, and there were more contractors there than customers. As we walked toward the Pet Supplies aisle, we heard a loud CRASH! PJ shrieked, and just as we walked past a store clerk I said, “OH! Watch out for falling prices!” PJ and I both began to laugh, and we thought the store clerk would die laughing, too. (As an aside, we ended up not buying anything there and went on to QuikTrip for coffee and donuts to give us enough JOLT to get us home.)

These are just a few examples of the silliness that’s gone on. I told PJ yesterday that this will be a time to remember…provided either of us can remember it years from now. We’re hoping one of us will at least remember enough of it that the other can fill in the blanks.  I guess the worst that can happen is that neither of us will remember much and we can make stuff up about what we think happened. At our age, we do that a lot…  Either way, we’re having a good time with life right now, and that’s all that matters.

Entry filed under: Acting Mature. Or not., Aging gracefully, On the homefront.

Town is a scary place What happens in a day

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. susan365  |  September 15, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    Not to worry–your blog will be your memory. (And my blog will be mine.) You’re lucky to have a sister!

    Reply
  • 2. Rita  |  September 15, 2010 at 1:32 pm

    Good point, Susan! Now all I have to do is remember that I have a blog…and how to get to it!

    Reply
  • 3. Karen  |  September 15, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    Sounds like you two were having a great time and making lifetime memories with each other!!

    Reply
  • 4. Susan  |  September 15, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    You two seem to be having so much fun! I wish I could join you 🙂
    It’s uplifting to hear about sisters who are having fun and enjoying their lives.

    Reply
  • 5. Lynda Berbaum  |  September 15, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    I have lived these kind of moments with PJ myself! Priceless! Especially the first day of school with Brad and Jenni missing the school bus. Never mind that the bus stop was directly across the street from PJ’s house! And then the Thanksgiving when we sat on the kitchen floor drinking lots of wine and my Mother looking at us! hehe Sisters are wonderful and I’m glad you have this time together. I cherish PJ as my friend, and love her and Jenni very much!

    Reply
  • 6. Annski  |  September 15, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    Y’all are just having too much fun! That’s the funniest Sonic story I’ve heard since watching my ex roll down the window with the tray attached. I am glad you’re having such good times springing yourselves onto a truly unsuspecting public!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,103 hits

Time Flies

September 2010
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Old is Good (Archives)


