Don’t cry over spilled milk

January 7, 2011 at 11:30 am 2 comments

I’m not crying.  It’s much worse than that!

Something terrible happened after I blogged earlier this week about Miss Daisy. I hadn’t driven her since December 30, when I went to Tulsa with my sister PJ someone I refuse to name. We had a very busy day in Tulsa, but nothing unusual happened on the trip.

So a few days ago, husband tells me something “stinks” in the garage. It wasn’t the garbage, it wasn’t the litter box, it wasn’t the freezer, and I couldn’t think of anything else it could be. I ignored it a few more days.

Yesterday, I got in Miss Daisy to go somewhere. Peeeeeeee-ewwwwwwwww!  I smelled something offensive the minute I opened the car door. After looking and sniffing everywhere, I narrowed the odor down to one particular spot beneath a seat but couldn’t find anything that would cause it.

When husband got home from work yesterday, I told him about “the area” that stunk. He got in the car, looked and sniffed just like I had, and then lifted the floor mat on the passenger side. Oh…my….gosh! The odor escalated from simply offensive to sickening.

Turns out my passenger on the way to Tulsa last week happens to drink cream in her coffee. And somehow—sometime or another—her coffee must have spilled or leaked or something.

As the heater in the car ramped up the smell last night after church, I laughed as I teased Sis my passenger with the old adage, “Don’t cry over spilled milk!”  We won’t cry, but we’ll likely gag as we give Miss Daisy a bath today.

Entry filed under: Random.

Out of the mouths of babes (over 50) Think ya gotta go? Think again…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Susan  |  January 7, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    Oh no! That happened to me once with scalloped potatoes! Pe-eww!!

    Reply
    • 2. Rita  |  January 8, 2011 at 5:47 pm

      OH, Susan! So you KNOW how bad it can be! I never imagined… We spent about 3 hours on the car yesterday. Sis did most of the work. She figured we may as well reeeally clean the whole interior instead of just that one spot. Wore me out!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,071 hits

Time Flies

January 2011
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Old is Good (Archives)


