Clearing the clutter

February 22, 2011 at 2:01 pm 9 comments

The definitions of “clutter” include:

  • a disorderly heap or assemblage; litter
  • confused noise; clatter
  • a state or condition of confusion

I’ve gradually reached a point where I am beginning to clear the clutter in my life. Some of it is simply an accumulation of things—too many objects gathering dust. Each of these things must have brought me joy at one time or another or I wouldn’t have hung onto them. But now the joy is gone. They have become litter, and I’ve begun to aggressively thin out these “things” by selling or donating them.

Another type of clutter that has bothered me recently is technology. I realize the world is changing—and far too rapidly for my liking—but I’m rather tired of being “connected” all the time. Watching husband struggle with learning to use a laptop at work, combined with my own inability to keep up with the latest gadgets, makes me wonder, “When will it stop? Why can’t we just go back to the old days when things were simpler?” So I’m clearing out the technological clutter, too. I recently cut way back on our TV choices, and I hope to downgrade our cell phones this week. I’m even considering putting up a clothesline. Seriously! 🙂

Finally, I have grown weary of emotional clutter. I’ve worked long and hard all my life, and I’ve dealt with more nastiness than I ever thought possible. I simply don’t have the energy (or desire) to deal with people who thrive on confusion (you know the type: they routinely stir the pot), so I started early last year to free myself from some of those relationships. It’s an ongoing process…  If that means I grow old alone, so be it. At least I like myself  (most of the time), so I’ll enjoy the company I keep!

Do you have clutter in your life?  Are you doing anything about it? Think on these things…

Entry filed under: Acting Mature. Or not., Aging gracefully, Words of wisdom.

Broken hearts Leave nothing unsaid

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MaryAnn  |  February 22, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    Clutter? I never keep my living room cluttered. It’s nice and neat. But my bedroom is so cluttered. I went to Vegas the first of October and I haven’t unpacked yet. I was in the hospital in October and a facility for physical therapy for the entire month of November. How do you accumulate so much clutter at those places? I have bag ( white kitchen garbage bags) on top
    of bag of clutter. It’s all just sitting there. No one has gone through the bags for me.
    Thank goodness I have ‘no’ emotional clutter!!!

    Reply
    • 2. Rita  |  February 22, 2011 at 2:29 pm

      Mary Ann: it seems like you were hardly home from Vegas when you went to the hospital! I remember that!! Sadly, I realized nobody is going to go through my stuff, either. And I really didn’t want anyone to “have” to do it, so I figured I should get busy.

      Know what? It feels better to have it gone! 🙂 And yes, thank goodness you have no emotional clutter!

      Reply
  • 3. Annski  |  February 22, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    In order to keep our kids from hating us after we’re gone, or the other spouse in case we don’t go *poof* together, we’re trying to whittle down some of the…accumulations. The point was driven home to me when a good friend of mine saw my home office a few weeks ago. I honestly think she would have fainted if there’d been a safe place to fall. Part of my rehab was to take a big blue tarp and clear off all my horizontal collecting surfaces and drag the big tarp to a sorting/purging area. I’m trying to be very judicious about what I bring back in. I think I’ll always have clutter (it’s my nature) but I seek to banish chaos. Wish me luck!

    Reply
    • 4. Rita  |  February 22, 2011 at 3:23 pm

      Blue tarp? That’s funny, Ann! Just like they do on TV, eh? 🙂 And I know you can do it…be strong!

      Reply
      • 5. Annski  |  February 22, 2011 at 9:34 pm

        I tied off two of the corners on it so it kinda reminded me of a diaper with a REAL BIG load! I’ll send ya a pic! I am enjoying not having ‘foothills’ at the base of every desk and bookcase. Inevitably they would fan out like and spread across the carpet changing the whole geography of the room—or at least its floor space!

  • 6. Karen  |  February 22, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    I so agree with everything you said….I’ve already gotten rid of the room and house clutter and emotional clutter is more than I care to deal with sometimes. Fishing is our way of clearing the confusion and renewing our spirit…which is something we’ll get to start doing again in a couple of months. And now we have cruises to clear the emotional clutter! What could be better than 2 emotional outlets!!!

    Reply
    • 7. Rita  |  February 22, 2011 at 7:36 pm

      Amen to that, Karen! Fishing…cruising…BRING IT ON!!! 🙂

      Reply
  • 8. Ya Ya  |  February 22, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    Girrrrl, you’re preaching the gospel with all of this talk of decluttering. My mom wasn’t even a “saver” like I am and it’s still been overwhelming since she passed away.

    I’ve gotten rid of a TON of old cards sent to me, old letters and three diaries! I have children and grandchildren!!! LOL

    Reply
    • 9. Rita  |  February 22, 2011 at 8:04 pm

      LMBO@YaYa! I certainly understand about going through your mom’s stuff. I’m still cussing my mom for not takin’ her crap with her! LOL!

      So, you’re getting rid of the skeletons in your closet before your kids get a chance to read it? What fun is that?! 🙂

      I went through all my boxes of photos last month and gave the ones away that I thought other people might enjoy.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 28,071 hits

Time Flies

February 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  

Old is Good (Archives)


