Hole lotta nothing

August 17, 2008 at 9:03 pm 2 comments

When we built this place in 2004 (?), we were so excited to finally have a hole—you know, see the first dirt moved where the house would be.  Now we want a different kind of hole, and we are darn tired of waiting.  😦

I quit my “real” job 2+ years ago and had some $$ in a 401k.  Yes, I know I’m supposed to leave it there, but I told husband we should spend that money on something memorable…something that we could look back and say, “Glad I worked that job!”  We decided on a pond. 

Now, when I say a pond, I’m not talking about a goldfish pond.  I’m talking about a REAL pond with catfish and frogs and crawdads and turtles and stuff.  We have the perfect back yard for it—gently sloping down to a big low place and a creek that runs much of the time. 

We started in the summer of 2006 talking to the National Resource Convseration (or something like that) guy, who sited the pond and told us what clearing we needed to do.  It took us 8-9 months to get him back out here, and he never would return our calls after that.  We just went straight to the dozer guy (supposedly one of the best), who came out and looked, then said he’d do it in the winter.  He called in (I think?) January, came out and hollowed out a few pilot holes, and hit water.  Normally, water is a good thing if you want a pond.  But NOT when you’re trying to dig a pond.  🙄

He said he’d have to wait until August when it was hot enough for the dirt to dry quickly.  Well, August is here…and still no “hole.”  Husband called him a few weeks ago, and he said he’d call us in two weeks.  We’re just tired of waiting.  Rain is forecast for the next few days, and I’m starting to think we’ll probably be long dead before we ever see a scoop of dirt moved.  

On second thought, I think we’ll just call someone else.  Chalk this up to a “GROUCH” post.

Entry filed under: On the homefront.

ACME Dynamite Old dogs

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Susan  |  August 18, 2008 at 7:20 am

    Maybe it’s a sign that you should keep the 401K money where it is . . .

    Reply
  • 2. okwriter2  |  August 19, 2008 at 6:21 am

    Hey, Susan! 🙂

    You mean, “should HAVE kept it where it WAS.” I pulled it that very year because it was a good move strategically on our taxes. I never dreamed it would two years later getting a dang hole dug!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 29,439 hits

Time Flies

August 2008
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Old is Good (Archives)