Welcome to “Old Lady-dom”

September 8, 2009 at 7:49 am 1 comment

I did something this past week that I am so ashamed of. I swore I’d never do it…it seems like such a symbol of “old lady-dom.”  But I went against my better judgment and—well, I feel as though I’ve literally crossed over the threshold into Elderlyville.

It’s bad enough, I suppose, that I wear granny panties: big white, cotton things that could double as a sheet for a twin bed. They aren’t expensive panties.  Fruit of the Looms from WalMart and very comfy. I love pulling a new pair from out of the drawer and putting them on, but I usually save the newest ones for special occasions.  (I know.  That makes no sense!)  Then as a pair becomes worn or the elastic becomes too stretched out around the waste, I toss them into the trash can before stepping into the shower.

So this past week, there was a day when I wasn’t going to shower. Problem was, I had on one of those pairs of panties that was overdue to be discarded. The elastic waistband had lost its stretch after too many trips through the washer and dryer, and they just wouldn’t stay up!  That’s when I did the unthinkable.  I went to the bathroom drawer and grabbed a safety pin.  Being carefuly not to injure myself, I pulled the two loose strips of fabric together to form a “clump” near my belly button and pinned them.

I stood silently for a moment, looking down at my handiwork.  It was disgusting.  I had finally reached rock bottom…the picture of old lady-dom…safety pinning my undies to get one more wearing out of them.

My youth is forever gone, and there is no hope of recapturing it. Life will never be the same.  *sigh*

Entry filed under: Acting Mature. Or not., Aging gracefully, Random.

The “butt ‘n gut” treatment Mercy, Mercy

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Baby Boomer Girl  |  September 26, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    So u got yr knickers in a twist? Good on ya – takes courage & honesty to reveal all like this – right down to yr undies! I see you’re taking it more gracefully than me, this advancing of the years. I still can’t accept that probably I should put my siren-red bikini-style daks away … “Forever gone” – no way – yr youth shines through in yr humour. Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 29,434 hits

Time Flies

September 2009
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Old is Good (Archives)